Tarun Kanti Mishra to receive 22nd Sarala Award
May 26, 2001
Internal Press Release

Noted Oriya story writer Shri Tarun Kanti Mishra, IAS has been selected to receive the prestigious Sarala Award for the year 2001 for his book titled "Akash Setu". At a meeting held on July 25th the Sarala Award Advisory Committee took the decision to confer the award which carries a cash award of Rs 1,00,000/- and citation on Shri Mishra.

Born at Keonjhar Gada in 1950, Shri Mishra is the author of several other literary works such as "Bitansha", "Bahubrihi", "Komal Gandhar", etc which were all widely read and well accepted by readers and critics alike. The book nominated for this year's Sarala Award was first published in 1999 and is the author's seventh publication. Shri Mishra has an MA in Applied Economics from Utkal University and has also studied in London. He is presently Commissioner cum Secretary to the Govt of Odisha in the Home Dept.

At a function to be held on June 14th, 2001 at Soochana Bhavan Shri Mishra will be feliciated along with four other eminent personalities of the State who will be honoured for their valuable contribution in various fields. They are Professor Upendra Mishra (Oriya Literature), Shri Gourishyam Nayak (Social Work), Shri Fakir Mohan Pattnaik (Music) and Mohammad Jamiulla (National Integration).

Professor Dr Namwar Singh of New Delhi, a noted Hindi writer, will be the Chief Guest.

For any information relating to IMFA Group or to enquire about a Press Release issued by us please contact:

Mr Kishore Mohan Mohanty