Board Of Directors
Executive Directors

Mr Baijayant Panda, Vice Chairman

Mr Baijayant Panda majored with a degree in Scientific and Technical Communication from Michigan Technological University in 1985. He has rich experience in the ferro alloys industry besides having founded Ortel Communications Ltd. In his initial days, Mr Panda was active in organisations like the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) and the International Chromium Development Association. In the past, he has been associated with the Government of Odisha’s Industrial Advisory Committee. Besides, he has been a Director on the Industrial Promotion and Investment Corporation of Odisha (IPICOL). As a parliamentarian, he has been an active member of important committees like the Parliamentary Standing Committees on Finance, Home, Energy and Urban Development. After serving as an MP in Rajya Sabha for nine years, he has been elected to the Lok Sabha from Kendrapara, Odisha in 2009 and 2014.


Mr Subhrakant Panda, Managing Director

Mr Subhrakant Panda holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration from the School of Management, Boston University. He graduated with honours summa cum laude with a dual concentration in Finance and Operations Management. Mr Panda has been recognised with several awards for his outstanding scholastic achievements. His current role in IMFA includes defining broad strategic goals while independently supervising the day-to-day management of the Company.

He is the current President of International Chamber of Commerce - India Chapter as well as Chairman of Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry (FICCI) - Odisha State Council. Mr Panda is only the third Indian to have been elected President (2013-15) of the International Chromium Development Association (ICDA) which is the voice of the chrome industry with IMFA being one of the Founding Members.


Mr J K Misra, Director (Corporate) & COO

Mr J K Misra holds a degree in Electrical Engineering from erstwhile University of Roorkee (presently IIT, Roorkee) and MEP from IIM, Ahmedabad. He has been associated with the Company for over 30 years. Over the years, he has held various positions and responsibilities. He has headed the Therubali Manufacturing Complex and the Commercial Division. His current role as the Chief Operating Officer is to look after the Company’s day-to-day management.


Mr Chitta Ranjan Ray, Whole-time Director

Mr Chitta Ranjan Ray has a Bachelor of Science in Electronics from Burdwan University. He has a long career spanning over 48 years in IMFA. His successful supervision of all important aspects of operations and projects in IMFA has made him the Company’s Whole-time Director. Besides, he is responsible for overall Health, Safety and Environment (HSE) Compliance.

Independent Directors

Major R N Misra (Retd.)

Major R N Misra (Retd.) holds a degree in Engineering (First Class) from College of Military Engineering, Pune. Additionally, he has an MBA Degree (First Class with distinction) from University of Pune. He is a fellow member of Institution of Engineers India as well as a certified Chartered Engineer.


Mr N R Mohanty, Padma Shri

Mr N R Mohanty Padma Shri was university topper in Mechanical Engineering from Regional Engineering College, Rourkela. He retired as Chairman of Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd (HAL), after a successful career spanning three decades. To recognise his outstanding contribution in the aviation industry, various awards were conferred on him. He received awards like Outstanding Chief Executive Award, Indira Gandhi Sadbhavana Award, Rashtriya Ratan Award, Visveswarya Samman and so on. In 2004, the Government of India awarded him with Padma Shri.


Mr S P Mathur

Mr S P Mathur has a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce; and passed Chartered Accountancy from the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India in 1970. He has rich working experience of over 35 years. Mr Mathur has served as the Director (Finance) at IMFA besides shouldering several other responsibilities in the Company.


General Shankar Roychowdhury (Retd.)

General Shankar Roychowdhury (Retd.) is a graduate of National Defence Academy, Indian Military Academy, Defence Services Staff College. He is also an alumnus of Army War College and National Defence College. He is a Doctorate D.Litt (CAVSA). He is the former Chief of Army Staff, Indian Army and former Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha).


Mr Bijoy Kumar Das

Mr Bijoy Kumar Das holds a Bachelor’s degree in Arts and a Masters in Economic History of Modern India. He joined the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in the year 1969. During his tenure of service in the IAS, he held several important positions like Chairperson of Orissa Electricity Regulatory Commission and Chief Secretary to Government of Karnataka. He has also served as Additional Chief Secretary and Principal Secretary of various departments. Additionally, he was Joint Secretary to Government of India, Cabinet Secretariat, New Delhi, Director of Census Operations, Karnataka, Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India besides holding various other positions in the State.


Mrs Paramita Mahapatra

Mrs Paramita Mahapatra completed her Post Graduation in Personal Management and Industrial Relations from Utkal University with a Gold Medal. She has handled several responsibilities within the Company before becoming the Managing Director of UMSL Ltd.

Mr Stefan Georg Amrein

Mr Stefan Georg Amrein has graduated from Commercial School in Switzerland. He has held several important assignments and handled several responsibilities such as internal payment and troubleshooting, function in mid-office operations. Additionally, he has served in various capacities like assistance to portfolio managers, operations for the fund industry in Credit Suisse/Credit Suisse First Boston, Credit Suisse Asset Management and Royal Bank of Canada.